UCL WIKI

UCL Logo

Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Lecturecast August 2018


This training guide describes the basic steps required to add content to a class and make it available for students to view.

It involves:

1. Adding content to a class

2. Making content available/unavailable for students to view

The term 'capture' is used throughout Lecturecast ALP to describe a video recording.

A 'class' is a container in Lecturecast ALP which holds content specific to a single teaching and learning event.

To navigate to Lecturecast content via your Moodle course, refer to the Learning ALP Basics training guide.

1. Add content to a class

Each class can contain one video and one presentation.

The icons (regardless of colour) indicate what content already exists for the class.

1.1 Add a video to a class

A video can be the recorded capture of a class or any other video that you want to share with students.

A video can be added to a class by uploading or importing it (Supported content formats).

You can remove or replace an existing video, but all associated data, analytics, notes, etc., are deleted from the system.

You cannot add a video to a class that has been automatically generated by the Lecturecast scheduling system.


If the class doesn't yet contain any content, click the plus '+' icon to add content to the class.

If the class already contains a presentation, click the plus '+' icon next to the presentation icon.


In this example, the class doesn't yet have any content so you will be prompted to select the type of content you wish to add.

Select the option to 'Add video' from the menu.


Select 'Upload a file' or 'Import from your library' to complete this action.

If you select 'Upload a file' a window appears allowing you to navigate to your content, select and upload it.

If you select 'Import from your library', your library content list appears allowing you to select the item to publish to the class.

Your uploaded video will need to finish processing before it can be viewed. You may need to refresh your screen to
confirm the video has finished processing.

1.2 Edit video details

Click on the video icon.


Select the 'Edit description' option from the drop down list.


Add a description and tags so you can easily find the video later, and save your changes.

Once content has been added to a class you can make it available or unavailable, refer to Section 2 of this training guide
for a description of how to do this.

1.3 Add a presentation to a class

A presentation can be added to a class by uploading or importing it (Supported content formats).

If you need to provide multiple presentations for a particular class, create a new class to hold the extra presentations and
create a new group to hold the classes with related content.

You can remove or replace an existing presentation, but all associated data, analytics, notes, etc., are deleted from
the system.


If the class doesn't yet contain any content, click the plus '+' icon to add content to the class.

If the class already contains a video, click the plus '+' icon next to the video icon.

In this example, the class contains a video so you will be directed straight to the Upload/Import window.


Select 'Upload a file' or 'Import from your library' to complete this action.

If you select 'Upload a file' a window appears allowing you to navigate to your content, select and upload it.

If you select 'Import from your library', your library content list appears allowing you to select the item to publish to the class.

A new presentation can also be created. For more information on creating a presentation refer to the Lecturecast
Online Help pages: Create a new presentation.

1.4 Edit presentation details

Click on the presentation icon.


Select the 'Edit description' option from the drop down list.


Add a description and tags so you can easily find the presentation later, and save your changes.

Once content has been added to a class you can make it available or unavailable, refer to Section 2 of this training guide
for a description of how to do this.

2. Make content available/unavailable for students to view

Once content has been added to a class, you can make it available or unavailable for students to view.

Alternatively, set an availability schedule for the item to be viewable from a certain date and/or for a set period of time.


The content icons in the class list indicate the current availability status.

A green icon indicates that the content is available to students. A grey icon indicates that the content is not available
to students.

2.1 Find the content you want to make available/unavailable

Click on the icon of the content you want to make available or unavailable.

2.2 Select the option to make the content available/unavailable

Depending on the current availability status the relevant 'Make available' or 'Make unavailable' option will be visible in the
drop down list.

In this example, select 'Make available', then click 'OK' on the confirmation message.

2.3 Alternatively, select 'Availability Settings'

2.4 Configure the availability settings

Make content available or unavailable immediately or on a specific date.

To edit a Lecturecast recording, refer to the Edit a capture training guide.

To view Lecturecast content, refer to the View class content training guide.

  • No labels