An upgraded version of the Lecturecast service launched in August 2017. This upgrade enables us to make improvements and to introduce added features, some of which are listed below.
This page outlines the key differences between the old system (Lecturecast Legacy) and the new system (Lecturecast). It should be particularly helpful for those staff who used Lecturecast prior to the 2017 upgrade.
The new Lecturecast Scheduler replaces the previous booking form(s)
Course Administrators and Tutors have access to the Lecturecast Scheduler tool to schedule Lecturecast recordings for teaching and learning events.
The new Lecturecast Scheduler is integrated with the CMIS room booking system. Events will be available in the Lecturecast Scheduler when a room booking has been made in CMIS in a Lecturecast enabled teaching space.
It replace the existing Lecturecast booking process and forms.
The Lecturecase Scheduler allows the creation, editing and managing of schedules for Lecturecast recordings.
Recordings can also be scheduled in bulk and made available for students to view immediately if selected.
Access to Lecturecast content for both staff and students is now via associated Moodle courses
Moodle Course Administrators and Tutors are able to link a Moodle course to a given Lecturecast section.
The new Lecturecast Connector block in Moodle simplifies the admin task of creating a link on a Moodle course to a Lecturecast section users can access relevant Lecturecast content directly from their Moodle courses.
A new Lecturecast Section page replaces the EchoCenter pages
The new Lecturecast Section display shows all the classes created for a given section (usually a module). Classes are a container for video recordings and associated content.
When recordings are scheduled via the Lecturecast Scheduler, a new class is automatically created to hold the recording.
As well as recordings, the new system has a range of added features. These include the creation of other content, including uploading presentation slides, adding student notes, confusion markers and Q&A.
The 30 day editing period no longer applies
Recordings may now be edited at any time.
No more yearly archiving/deletion
Recordings and other content created in the new system will be held for a rolling seven year period following the last time the material was accessed. For material to be automatically deleted it would need to sit un-viewed for seven years.