UCL WIKI

UCL Logo

UCL Moodle Guides

Navigation

Moodle Resource Centre - home

UCL's new Moodle

New Moodle Information

General links

Moodle Home
E-Learning services for staff

Moodle Resources

Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

print Keywords: manual, one-by-one, individual, one by one, time consuming, small numbers, enrol staff, not students

What is it?

Generally, you use the manual enrolment method to grant access to other members of staff, but it can be used to add students if you need to.

NOTE: Students, Visitors, Honoraries and Associate Staff will not appear in the list of potential Moodle users unless they have signed in and accepted the Moodle T&C's.  For this reason, when enroling students, using Portico enrolment or an Enrolment Key is preferable.

Why use it?

- None at this time

Who can use it?

- None at this time

Before I start...

- None at this time

How do I...?

Enrol someone manually

    1. From within your Moodle course go to the This course block.
    2. Under this tab click participants. 
    3. From here you can click Enrol users to add staff to your course
    4. In the Assign roles dropdown, choose the role you want to assign.
    5. The list shows all people in Moodle - and there's a lot of them. To filter the list down to an individual use the search box below the list of accounts.
    6. You can search for their email, name or department.
    7. Click Enrol for the person you wish to give access to your course. 
    8. Click Finish enrolling users when you are done. 

UCL Moodle role descriptions

The following table explains each role and its purpose.

Course Administrator

Course Administrators can do anything within a course, including enrolling students, editing content, adding activities and grading students. This role is identical to the tutor role, but with an alternative name. Used for non-academic staff who require edit access.

Tutor

Tutors can do anything within a course, including enrolling students, editing content, adding activities and grading students. This role is identical to the Course Administrator role, but with an alternative name. Used for academic staff who require edit access.

Non-editing Tutor

Non-editing tutors can teach in courses and grade students, but may not edit content or alter activities. It is used for academic staff, external examiners and Teaching Assistants who can grade student work but DO NOT require edit access.

Student

Students can view course content, participate in activities, submit coursework and view their own grades. This role is identical to the Participant role, but with an alternative name. It is used for students currently enrolled in a course.

Participant

Participants can view course content, participate in activities, submit coursework and view their own grades. This role is identical to the student role, but with an alternative name. It is used for voluntary membership clubs, networks, non-academic Moodle courses and for adding past students to academic Moodle courses.

UCL Support Staff

UCL Support Staff have read-only access and are NOT able to grade student work or see hidden activities and sections. It is used for Subject Librarians, Faculty Information Support Officers, Personal Tutors, Teaching Assistants and External Examiners who do not need to grade student work.

Guest

Guests have minimal privileges, including not being able to see participants lists or user profiles. They have read-only access and cannot participate in any activities. Guests do not need to log in to UCL Moodle to access courses that have been made available to guests, either with an enrolment key (password) or without one.

Unenrol someone manually

For removing students the recommended way is to reset the course (after the Moodle snapshot has been taken), however, if you are removing members of staff or need to remove selected students you can do so by following these steps.

Warning

Please note that removing students from a course will break the link with their grades, assignments and contributions (such as forum posts). Be absolutely sure you are willing to lose this information before you remove them. 

You will be able to find historic data on the UCL Moodle Snapshot - which reflects a frozen version of Moodle at the time the snapshot was taken, including any student work or grades. Before you reset a course ensure the Moodle snapshot has been taken for the year, so there is a backup of the course that you can refer to and retrieve information from. You will receive an email once the snapshot is taken - this usually occurs in July each year. 


To unenrol:

  1. Firstly, navigate to the Moodle course you wish to remove people from.
  2. Under the  "This course" tab click participants
  3. To make the process easier use the 'Role' drop down menu at the top of the page to filter by the role you wish to remove people from. Remember to click 'Filter' to apply this filter.
  4. Once you have filtered the list scroll down and click the grey cross (X) to far right of the person's name you wish to remove.
     
  5. On the warning, box click 'unenrol' to confirm the unenrolment. If you have changed your mind click 'Cancel'.
  6. The person will be removed from your course. Repeat this for as many people as required.


Further help

Further guidance on Manual enrolment is available from moodledocs.

If you find any inaccurate or missing information you can even update this yourself (it's a communal wiki).

If you have a specific question about the tool please contact the Digital Education team.


Caution

  • Students, Visitors, Honoraries and Associate Staff will not appear in the list of potential Moodle users unless they have signed in and accepted the Moodle T&C's.  For this reason, when enroling students, using Portico enrolment or an Enrolment Key is preferable.
  • Central support staff (i.e. ServiceDesk) are unable to enrol staff in courses unless in exceptional circumstances.
  • Please note that removing students from a course will break the link with their grades, assignments and contributions (such as forum posts). Be absolutely sure you are willing to lose this information before you remove them. 

Examples and case studies

- None at this time

Questions & Answers

- None at this time

Further information

- None at this time