UCL Moodle Guides
E-Learning services for staff
Quickscan Dyslexia Screening Tool
Portico Mappings were globally deactivated in Moodle on 27th February, 2023.
When Portico mappings are active on a Moodle course, student enrolments on the course are automatically updated overnight to mirror the Portico student list for the associated module. Consequently, students who change courses, or withdraw from their studies permanently or temporarily, are automatically un-enrolled from their Moodle courses. Usually, this is desirable when students change/drop modules within the first few weeks of term. However, if Portico un-enrols students after they have been awarded any grades, these grades become inaccessible, which can be very problematic.
Note: the ‘inaccessible’ grades, submissions and logged activity are not deleted, and can be accessed again if the student is re-enrolled manually. But, when a student is no longer enrolled on a course, there is just no way to view their content.
To reduce the likelihood of this particular ‘inaccessible/missing grades’ problem occurring, Portico Mappings are de-activated globally in Moodle, six weeks from the start of each term.
Yes. However, please assess whether you risk losing access to some students’ grades before you do this. See instructions on re-activating Portico enrolments
Note: Portico Mappings can be ‘deactivated’ within the course at any time by anyone with Course Administrator or Tutor access, thereby stopping any updates to the list of enrolled users on the Moodle course.
If you have any queries regarding this, please contact the Digital Education team: firstname.lastname@example.org