Moodle course resets Summer 2019
The process for resetting courses has changed slightly and includes an additional step to unenrol students. Please complete ALL the steps in the guidance when resetting your Moodle course.
If your course continues past the snapshot date (26th July 2019), runs several times a year, or if you still have ongoing marking activity on your course e.g dissertation/thesis submissions, resitting student submissions etc, then a process of course duplication replaces the standard course reset process, and it can be done at any point in the year, or several times if necessary.
If you have a new cohort starting on your course, request a copy of the current course (see 'How to request a duplicate course' below). Once teaching has finished on the original course it can either be hidden from students or locked down so that no further activity takes place on it. (Locking a course makes it read only and will prevent any further posting in forums, submissions, marking, etc.). The next time a snapshot of Moodle is taken your course will be copied into the archive, at which point the old course can be hidden from live Moodle.
Moodle Course Resets, Snapshots and Portico Enrolments
For non-standard running courses, the snapshot date is of little relevance. Once the archive copy is taken, any 'old' (i.e. no activity since the previous snapshot) courses on Moodle can be hidden.
If your course is using automatic portico enrolments, then what is important is the Portico/SITS rollover date. If you think the current years course will overrun the portico roll-over date then you should de-activate your portico mappings, which in effect 'freezes' the enrolments on your course. For more information, please visit the Portico Enrolments.
The automatic updating of enrolments in Moodle from Portico is currently unavailable. We anticipate this will be available from 20 August for 2019/20 data
|When||What happens||What this means for course owners|
|November||Teaching is continuing on course 'ELE1001: T&L Jan 18-19' but you need a new copy of the course ready for the next cohort who start in January|
The Service Desk will then create 'ELE1001: T&L Jan 19-20' which is a copy of 'ELE1001: T&L Jan 18-19' with all the student data stripped out.
Course owner prepares the 19-20 course changing any content/dates as needed.
If you think the current (18-19) years course will overrun the portico roll-over date (in this case 1st week in January) then you should de-activate your portico mappings, which in effect 'freezes' the enrolments on your course. If you don't de-activate the mappings, then come January, the current cohort will be un-enrolled from the course and the next years cohort will be enrolled on to it.
|January||Teaching starts on the 18-19 course||If you are using Portico enrolments, check your Portico mappings and activate them on the 18-19 course.|
|February||All activity ceases on the 18-19 course.||The course owner can now hide or lock down the 18-19 course from students.|
|Late July||The Snapshot takes place. All Portico enrolment mappings are de-activated|
The 18-19 course can be deleted from live Moodle (a copy is held in the snapshot).
Re-activate mappings if you want 'live' enrolments and un-enrolments to continue on your course.
How to request a duplicate course
When you need a new copy of your course, complete the new course request form, and in the 'additional information' section explain that you would like your course to have a copy taken, giving the URL for your current course.
The Service Desk will then make a new copy of the course, reset it and make it available to you ready for the next running of the course.