The Wiki will be upgraded to version 6.3 in early August - exact dates will be announced shortly. Please see the 6.0 Release notes and 6.3 Release notes for info on new features.

Moodle Resource Centre

Navigation

Moodle Resource Centre - home

General links

Moodle Home
ISD e-learning site

Moodle Resources

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

The process

If your course/module continues past the snapshot date (normally the middle of June), such as a post-graduate or Medical course, or your course runs several times a year, or if you still have ongoing marking activity on your course e.g dissertation/thesis submissions, resitting student submissions etc, then course resetting is essentially a process of course duplication, and can be done at any point in the year, including several times if necessary.

If you have a new cohort starting on your course, request a copy of the current course (see 'How to request a duplicate course' below) Once teaching has finished on the original course it can either be hidden from students or locked down so that no further activity takes place on it (check submission and quiz closure dates, prevent any further posting in forums etc.). The next time the Snapshot occurs it will get copied into the archive, at which point the old course can be deleted from live Moodle

How do course resets, the snapshot and portico enrolments affect each other?

For non-standard running courses, the snapshot date is of little relevance. All it means is that once the archive copy is taken, any 'old' (i.e. no activity since the previous snapshot) courses on Moodle can be deleted.

If your course is using automatic portico enrolments, then what is important is the Portico/SITS rollover date. If you think the current years course will overrun the portico roll-over date then you should de-activate your portico mappings, which in effect 'freezes' the enrolments on your course.

Example timeline

WhenWhat happensWhat this means for course owners
NovemberTeaching is continuing on course 'ELE1001: T&L Jan 15-16' but you need a new copy of the course ready for the next cohort who start in January

Request a copy of the course using the online new Moodle course form

The Service Desk will then create 'ELE1001: T&L Jan 16-17' which is a copy of 'ELE1001: T&L Jan 15-16' with all the student data stripped out.

Couse owner prepares the 16-17 course changing any content/dates as needed.

If you think the current (15-16) years course will overrun the portico roll-over date (in this case 1st week in January) then you should de-activeate your portico mappings, which in effect 'freezes' the enrolments on your course. If you dont de-activate the mappings, then come January, the current cohort will be unenrolled from the course and the next years cohort will be enrolled on to it.

JanuaryTeaching starts on the 15-16 courseIf you are using Portico enrolments, check your Portico mappings and activate them on the 15-16 course.
FebruaryAll activity ceases on the 14-15 course.The course owner can now hide or lock down the 14-15 course from students.
Late JulyThe Snapshot takes place. All Portico enrolment mappings are de-activated

The 15-16 course can be deleted from live Moodle (a copy is held in the snapshot).

Re-activate mappings if you want 'live' enrolments and unenrolments to continue on your course.

 


How to request a duplicate course

When you need a new copy of your course, complete the new course request form,  and in the 'additional information' section explain that you would like your course to have a copy taken, giving the URL for your current course.

The Service Desk will then make a new copy of the course, reset it and make it available to you ready for the next running of the course.

 

 

 

  • No labels