See the Summer 2019 upgrade wiki page for information on the 2019 snapshot.
|Table of Contents|
About the Snapshot
The snapshot (previously known as the Archive) is a 'point-in-time' copy of UCL Moodle (http://moodle.ucl.ac.uk) taken for reference purposes. All records present on this date will be included in the snapshot. This includes, but is not limited to, course content, i.e. resources and activities, and stored records, i.e. forum posts, assignments and grades. Staff and students are moved into read-only roles. If the Late Summer Assessment does not apply to your course, students can view content but not take part in any two-way activities (quizzes, forums, assignments etc).
While this retains most of their respective functionality, it prohibits further editing or changes to course content, grades and enrolments. The purpose is to retain an accessible digital record of each course for students and staff. Courses will be kept in the archive for up to five years in line with our Data Retention Policy.
The snapshot is available for all members of the UCL community who have a valid UCL username and password. The level of access to the snapshot reflects the level of access on the day the snapshot was taken, so if a student was enrolled on a suite of courses when the snapshot was taken, they will have access to the same courses (albeit read-only) in their snapshot instance of Moodle. Guest access is not enabled in the Moodle Snapshot.
Please note - the snapshot does NOT reset your course or affect the student data on your course in any way. Course resets are a manual process that you will need to do when preparing your Moodle course for the next cohort.
Grace period for editing and Hiding content
It may be undesirable for all of your course content to remain available to staff and students on the archive. There is an initial one month editing grace period after the Snapshot is taken, for staff to make parts of a course, or an entire course hidden to students. We advise all staff check courses and hide content they do not want available such as:
- Resources - resources which are released in a timely way, such as answers to assessments
- Quizzes – summative exams
- Any other content
To hide individual items: Turn editing on, click on the 'Edit' dropdown and then click the eye icon to hide each item. Hidden content will appear with grey shaded box around it.
To hide an entire topic area: Turn editing on and click on the eye icon to the right of the topic area you want to hide. This will close the eye and the topic will show greyed out with a dashed border.
To hide the entire course: In the Settings menu, under Course administration click on Edit Settings. Set Availability to 'This course is not available to students' and click Save changes.
NOTE: If you have used the time limited restriction feature in your live Moodle course for any activity or resource, these dates will apply in the archive too:
If you would like these resources or activities to be hidden permanently in the archived version of your course, please ensure you have removed the date restriction and hidden them permanently (using theicon) before snapshot weekend.
Accessing the Snapshot
The different yearly Snapshots can be viewed here: