UCL WIKI

UCL Logo

UCL Moodle Guides

Navigation

Moodle Resource Centre - home

General links

Moodle Home
E-Learning services for staff

Moodle Resources

Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 17 Next »

printKeywords: 

What is it?

Resetting you course is the start of the process of preparing your course for use with the next cohort of students. Resetting your Moodle course removes students' work and grades but leaves your course resources or activities in place.

Course resets DO NOT happen automatically. Because of the differences in the way Moodle courses run it is not practical to automate this process. This means that it is the course owner's responsibility to reset their course.

Why reset?


It is very important that you reset your course between cohorts!


Reasons that you do this include:

  • Clear out old student data
  • Remove students permissions from Moodle courses
  • Remove Student records from Moodle database
  • Increase Moodle performance due to database optimisation
  • Keep our campus licensing agreements at the correct level
  • Makes existing/current courses easier to manage and less prone to error
  • Ensures your Turnitin assignments are not duplicates from the previous academic cohort

Who can reset?

Course administrators and Tutors can reset a Moodle course, but should only do this after the snapshot is taken for that year, otherwise all of the student's contributions, assessments and grades will be deleted.

Before I start...

Check the UCL Moodle snapshot has been taken for the year, so that there is a backup of all the previous cohort of students' contributions, assessments and grades.

How do I...?

Reset your course

How you reset your course depends on what timetable it follows.

If your course follows the standard undergraduate timetable, with teaching starting in September and finishing some time in early summer, with a clear period of student inactivity on the course during July and August then follow the instructions for standard course resets. You generally have a window of time in which to reset your course starting immediately AFTER the yearly Moodle snapshot, and before teaching is due to start for the new academic year

If your course doesn't follow the standard UG timetable, e.g. it is a postgraduate course, then follow the instructions for non-standard course resets. Non standard resets can occur at any time of the year. Often there is overlap between the running of different yearly instances of the course, in which case the reset is usually prompted by the need for a new course for the incoming cohort.

Re-enable Portico enrolments

It is important to re-activate your Portico enrolments when you reset your course. We recommend doing this once the academic year has rolled over in Portico, so from the 1st August for undergraduate courses.

Further help

Further guidance on Enrolments is available from moodledocs, however, please note that there is no guidance available on moodledocs for Portico enrolments, as this is a custom feature of UCL Moodle.

If you find any inaccurate or missing information you can even update this yourself (it's a communal wiki).

If you have a specific question about the tool please contact the Digital Education team.


Caution

You should only reset your courses after the snapshot is taken for that year, otherwise all of the student's contributions, assessments and grades will be deleted.

Examples and case studies

-

Questions & Answers

-

Further information

Also see: 

  • No labels